You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Wanna upgrade...
04-17-2011, 09:17 PM
Post: #1
Wanna upgrade...
Sometime this summer. Currently running the Phenom II x4 945 @3.0 (stock) with a HD5770.

Probably gonna drop around $250, possibly $300 in to it. Reason being is Battlefield 3. I wanna be able to play that fucker in all of its glory @ 1080p when it comes out. My motherboard has only one PCI x16 slot. So I'm thinking I,

a.) Buy another 5770 and a crossfire-able motherboard and do that.
b.) Look in to one of those unlock-able HD 6950's. They can be easily unlocked in to a 6970.
c.) Something else that I don't know about that you should suggest.

I haven't had any frame rate issues with any of the games that I've played. Would my CPU be bottlenecking the 6950? I'm aware it probably will to an extent, but how much? A noticeable amount?
Quote this message in a reply
04-17-2011, 09:44 PM
Post: #2
RE: Wanna upgrade...
go with b. and it probably will but i dont think itll be horrible. go with the 6950, then upgrade your cpu/mobo later

Gaming :: Asus Crosshair IV Formula . AMD Phenom II 1090T . 8GB DDR3 1600 . Sapphire AMD 7970 . 2x 120G OCZ Vertex LE (Raid0) . 1 50G OCZ Vertex 2
Server :: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4 . AMD 955BE . 16GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (ECC Unregistered) . 1 50GB OCZ Vertex 2 (Sys) . 11x 2TB Samsung F4 (Stor)

[Image: mb-chart.php?action=mbo_userbar&account_id=1113]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-18-2011, 09:22 AM
Post: #3
RE: Wanna upgrade...
One thing to know about the 6950/6970 bios flashing is to make sure and get one of the original reference design to the 6970. Basically one that physically looks like a 6970 in every way including the dual bios selector. I bought a 6950 with hopes of flashing it into a 6970, but I guess I needed to do a bit more research because it's not a reference design, and doesn't have the dual bios selector feature. Now I wouldn't dare flash it because it's a newer model.

Also... I have an old Intel Q6600 which I run at about 3.2GHz and it doesn't seem to bottleneck the card at all. On the Unigine Heaven DX11 benchmark I get about the same scores as people with i7's running at 3.6GHz plus. And BFBC2 in DX11 runs about 80+ frames smooth at 1080p.
Quote this message in a reply
04-18-2011, 03:44 PM
Post: #4
RE: Wanna upgrade...
Im still running my Q6600 too, best purchase ive ever made for a PC since my 486 back in the day Smile I made sure I got the GO STEP model as i knew it could be overclocked like a bitch... and that I have. But yay, I would have to go for B too as GPU;s make my penis stiff Smile

[Image: EoooDSig.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-18-2011, 06:24 PM
Post: #5
RE: Wanna upgrade...
Make sure your mobo supports PCI-E 2.0 otherwise you would be bottlenecking that card not because the CPU but rather the compatiblty of the motherboard.

If your board dose support PCI-E 16 2.0 then I would go with a 6950 because one would run laps around 5770's even in 2x xfire.

Computer: The MEH
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3-Intel Core i5-3570K-Mushkin Enhanced Redline 16GB( 2x 8 GB) DDR3 1866 Mhz (Ridgebacks)- Diamond 7970- Corsair HX850- OCZ Vertez III (120 GB)- Corsair H100- Corsair Obsidian 850D
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-18-2011, 07:46 PM
Post: #6
RE: Wanna upgrade...
The GPU I have in it now is the MSI R5770 HAWK Edition and it is 2.1 x16

Anyways, the x16 slot is 2.0 in my motherboard
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

ZeroAlphaGaming.us Contact Us Return to Top Return to Content Lite (Archive) Mode RSS Syndication