You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Well Boyzzzz??? :D
11-09-2011, 02:37 PM
Post: #21
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
don't go bulldozer brent... get a 2500K (ugh i just cringed a bit suggesting an intel CPU) or a Phenom II X6 1100T

Computer: The MEH
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3-Intel Core i5-3570K-Mushkin Enhanced Redline 16GB( 2x 8 GB) DDR3 1866 Mhz (Ridgebacks)- Diamond 7970- Corsair HX850- OCZ Vertez III (120 GB)- Corsair H100- Corsair Obsidian 850D
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 03:43 PM (This post was last modified: 11-09-2011 04:35 PM by Brent6.)
Post: #22
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
What's wrong with the bulldozer?



~~~~~~Never mind looked it up, obvious lol~~~~~~






vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv


What is better the Intel 2500k or the AMD Phenom II X6 1100T?


^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

[Image: BFBC2signaturecopy.jpg]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 04:46 PM
Post: #23
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
YOUR FANCY COLORS ARE OBNOXIOUS

The 2500k is superior, but you're looking at $30 more than the 1100T and definitely a more expensive good-quality motherboard. It should beat it in everything except video rendering and even then the difference will be minimal. If I was in your situation and could afford the extra $50-100 to go with the 2500k and motherboard, I would. I am not really familiar with the North Bridge styles for Intel, so I cannot suggest a specific motherboard...
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 05:10 PM
Post: #24
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
haha, didnt want you guys to miss anything i put, so if i were to get the 2500k then, i doubt the gigabyte motherboard would work then, right?

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.asp...6813128510

[Image: BFBC2signaturecopy.jpg]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 05:53 PM (This post was last modified: 11-09-2011 05:55 PM by Brent6.)
Post: #25
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
Final Build:

- COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Advanced RC-932-KKN5-GP Steel ATX Full Tower Compucase Case with USB 3.0 - $159.99

- Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive - $149.99

- ASUS Black Blu-ray Drive SATA Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS - OEM - $69.99

- CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.2 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - $139.99

- EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1563-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card - $249.99

- Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 3000 BX80623I52500K - $224.99

- BIOSTAR TZ68A+RCH LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - $139.99

- G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM - $65.99

- Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM - x2 ($12.99 each) - $25.98

Subtotal: $1226.90
Grand Total: $1470.78

[Image: BFBC2signaturecopy.jpg]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 08:19 PM
Post: #26
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
You buy it? If not... Mario says buy a damn computer already!
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 08:51 PM
Post: #27
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
That looks really good. I'd only go for 1 tube of the AS 5. You'll use so little of the small tube it's not even funny. The Z68 chipset will let you overclock to your heart's content and it will allow you to use it i5's integrated graphics, just in case...

Buy the damn thing already...
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 09:25 PM
Post: #28
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
A friend wanted a tube and hes paying me back, so i just put it on there

[Image: BFBC2signaturecopy.jpg]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 10:38 PM
Post: #29
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
Are you using an aftermarket heatsink? If not the factor tim on the stock heatsink will work fine. Also keep in mind I am sure AS5 needs 12 hour cure time before optimized temps will be reached. I am not entirely sure I would google it. And I am on my phone so I am not going to.

Just a few more little things... $2k and no SSD nor watercooling

Computer: The MEH
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3-Intel Core i5-3570K-Mushkin Enhanced Redline 16GB( 2x 8 GB) DDR3 1866 Mhz (Ridgebacks)- Diamond 7970- Corsair HX850- OCZ Vertez III (120 GB)- Corsair H100- Corsair Obsidian 850D
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 11:52 PM
Post: #30
RE: Well Boyzzzz??? :D
In my opinion, liquid cooling is really only needed for large overclocks. I'm on air with an old ass Q6600 running at 3.4GHz. Never goes over 40c under gaming, even under BF3. May only be a 1GHz OC, but you have to remember that I'm on an old 65nm die which generates more heat than these newer i5's i7's.

I would at least opt for a decent air aftermarket cooler though. Easier to set up and worth it in the long run. Some of the stock coolers of today are pretty, "meh."

I do agree on the SSD. 7200RPM drives are starting to show their age in terms of read/write speeds. 5400-7200RPM is okay for storage. For gaming now a days, if possible, I would opt for SSD's because of the speed differences and how large some games can be. A game like GTA4, for example, benefits a huge amount from an SSD because most of the game is streamed right from a HDD. Another example would be the UE3 engine games like Mass Effect 1/2/3, Batman: Arkham Asylum/City, etc. They all use streaming for textures which is much faster on an SSD.

EDIT
Also are you dead set on Nvidia? Because a 1GB card may not be very future proof down the road. Shoot I think BF3 on Ultra uses more than a GB. If it costs too much for an Nvidia card to have 2GB you could opt for a 6950 2GB for about the same price as what you chose I believe. And if you pick the right model you could possibly unlock some shaders and turn it into an under clocked 6970 down the road like I have with mine. Pretty much the same performance in everything except for dual cards. And no I'm not an AMD fan boy. I have both Nvidia and AMD in my current system, lol.

EDIT2
Also sorry about a late reply. Been at school on my phone and didn't really read what your build was when I posted the Mario reference.

EDIT3
Taken directly from a tweaking guide about BF3 off of an Nvidia website, "However as texture detail rises, so too does the amount of Video RAM (VRAM) needed to hold these textures on your graphics card for quick access. In BF3, textures are streamed in as required, but your Texture Quality setting determines the texture pool size, which is the amount of VRAM allocated to storing textures at any one time. At the Low setting, 150MB is allocated to the texture pool; Medium = 200MB; High = 300MB; and Ultra = 500MB. Keep in mind however that your VRAM also stores a range of other game information, and that an average multiplayer level in BF3 can have 1.5GB or more of textures, so it can't all be stored on your GPU at once. Thus setting this option too high may result in stuttering or visible texture streaming. The Ultra Texture Quality setting for example is designed specifically for GPUs with 1.5GB or more of VRAM."
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

ZeroAlphaGaming.us Contact Us Return to Top Return to Content Lite (Archive) Mode RSS Syndication